Skip to main content
A release is a version of software and its compatible config schemas. Within a fleet of robots, multiple software versions may be deployed—each release defines which config schemas are valid for that version. For example, software release v1.7.0 might specify the following schemas: Before deploying config instances to a device, the deployment’s release (v1.7.0) is used to verify that all required config instances are present and that each instance complies with the release’s schemas.

Properties

string
A semantic version, unique for a given release.Versions must be dot-separated integers. You may optionally use a v prefix, a prerelease suffix (e.g. -alpha.X, -beta.X, -rc.X), or a build suffix (e.g. +build-metadata).Examples: v1, 1, v2.1, 2.1, v3.2.1, 3.2.1, v4.3.2-beta.1, 4.3.2-rc.1, v5.4.3+metadata, 6.5.4-beta.2+metadata
[] Config Schema
The config schemas that define compatible config instances for the release.Examples: SCH-FmoDN, SCH-3JcLq, SCH-HHDRn
[] File Rule
The file rules that are part of this release.Examples: FLR-FmoDN, FLR-3JcLq, FLR-HHDRn

View a release

To view a release, click into it from the Releases page and open the Overview tab:
  • Active and Staged: how many devices are on this release, and how many have a deployment staged for it.
  • Schemas: the release’s config schemas. Click one to view it.
  • File Rules: the release’s file rules.
Release Overview

Create a release

Releases are created via the CLI — visit the config management create a release guide. To add file rules to a release, visit the data uploads define file rules guide.

Duplicate a release

Duplicating a release creates a new release with the same config schemas, file rules, and git information, under a new version. Deployments aren’t copied. To duplicate a release, click the ellipses (…) on the release, or right-click it, and select Duplicate.
Release Ellipses Dropdown
A dialog will appear. Input the new version name and hit Create.

Archive a release

Archiving a release hides it from the releases list and restricts deployments to only devices currently running that release. New devices cannot be deployed with an archived release and existing devices cannot switch to or rollback to an archived release. Archiving a release retains its config schemas and deployment history, and releases can be unarchived at any time. To archive a release, click the ellipses (…) on the release, or right-click it, and select Archive.
Archive Release Ellipses Dropdown
A dialog will appear. Hit Archive to confirm the archive.

Unarchive a release

Unarchiving a release makes it available for any device to deploy from it again. Find the release among the archived releases, click the ellipses (…), or right-click it, and select Unarchive.
Unarchive Release Ellipses Dropdown
A dialog will appear. Hit Unarchive to confirm the unarchive.

Delete a release

Deleting a release is only possible if no deployments have been delivered to any device with that release. Otherwise, the release cannot be deleted. To delete a release, click the ellipses (…) on the release, or right-click it, and hit Delete.
Release Ellipses Dropdown
A confirmation dialog will appear. Hit Delete to confirm the deletion.
Last modified on September 29, 2026